Week14-Activity-Sketching in the Garden

For Art110 this week we got assigned to do an activity called, “Sketching in the Garden”. For this activity we went to the Japanese Gardens on campus at CSULB and sat there to draw 6 different drawings. 3 of the drawings had to be realistic and the other 3 had to be abstract. Also along with this drawing activity we had to include 6 pictures along the same guidelines, 3 abstract and 3 realistic.

Going into this activity I was excited because even though I am not very good at drawing I love being in nature. Getting to yet again go to the Japanese Gardens and experience the beauty within seemed like it was going to be relaxing and fun. Of all the things that I have the opportunity to draw I think that nature is my favorite. Even though I do not find myself to be an exceptionally good drawer, it’s still a fun process and I love trying to depict nature through pen and paper.

Drawings:

When arriving at the garden I decided to sit down near the water because it is my favorite part of the garden. As I sat I started to think of what I would like to draw. The first thing that caught my eye was the animals. So I decided to try and depict a fish and a bird as well as I could. These drawings were a little rushed though because I knew I had to complete 4 more drawings. It was really fun to sit and look through the garden while deciding what to draw. It created a peaceful and calm atmosphere. The final realistic drawing that I did was of the entire pool. I decided to draw this because, again it is my favorite part of the garden.

When I moved on the abstract drawings it was harder for me to decide what to draw. I have never really been an abstract drawer though through this process I realized I like this drawing style a lot. The first object that caught my eye for these drawings was the tree I was sitting next to. The reason that this caught my eye was because when I looked at it I thought of the energy that it has flowing through each of its branches. I tried to express this energy through my drawing. After completing this drawing, my mind was encapsulated with the idea of energy so as I looked around the garden I started to see everything in regards to this. Then as I was looking around I saw  a ripple happen in the water because a stone was tossed in. This immediately got me inspired to do an abstract drawing about the energy that produced that ripple. My final abstract drawing was of a bird that flew by the garden. Again with this drawing I tried to represent the energy flow of the bird through my lines.

Pictures:

The next part of this assignment was to take 6 pictures. The first three pictures were easy to take because they just had to be realistic. I took them of what I had already been drawing. One of the pool in front of me, another of the tree standing next to me and the third picture was of a red fish. The abstract pictures took me awhile to take because I wasn’t sure at first how to take them. After thinking for awhile, I came up with the idea that I really wanted to be up close to the objects I captured, to see if I could reveal their texture through the photos. The three photos I took were up close pictures of a rock, some moss and a fish’s scales. My favorite of these three (and of all the photos I took) was the up close picture of the fish’s scales. I definitely think that I was able to capture its texture through the photograph.

Overall this assignment was actually really fun to participate in. I loved being able to be in nature and I really enjoyed the abstract work that we did. I definitely enjoy taking abstract pictures and drawing abstractly more than realistically.

Leave a Reply

